Gallantry Awards: 412 gallantry awards announced, announced on the eve of Republic Day

Varinder Singh Pathania, Lt Gen Amardeep Singh Aujla

Varinder Singh Pathania, Lt Gen Amardeep Singh Aujla
Photo: ANI


The President announced 412 gallantry awards and other defense decorations for armed forces personnel on Republic Day. These include six Kirti Chakras (four posthumously), 15 Shaurya Chakras (two posthumously), one bar to the Sena Medal (Gallantry), 92 Sena Medals (four posthumously), one Navy Medal (Gallantry); Seven Vayu Sena Medals (gallantry), 29 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, three Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, once two Vishisht Seva Medals, 52 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 10 Yudh Seva Medals, two again Sena Medals (devotion to duty), 36 Sena Medals (devotion to duty), two again Nao Sena Medals (devotion to duty) (posthumous), 11 Nao Sena Medals (devotion to duty) including three posthumous, 14 Vayu Sena Medals (devotion to duty) , two re-Vishisht Seva Medals and 126 Vishisht Seva Medals.

Indian Coast Guard Director General Varinder Singh Pathania has been awarded the Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM). A total of 29 serving and retired officers have been awarded PVSM this year for their distinguished services. Chinar Corps Commander Lt Gen Amardeep Singh Aujala has been awarded the Uttam Yudh Seva Medal (UYSM). 3 Corps Commander Lt Gen RK Tiwari and 14 Corps Chief Lt Gen A Sengupta were also awarded the UYSM.

Brigadier Sanjay Mishra of Army Research and Referral Hospital has been awarded Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) on this 74th Republic Day. A total of 52 officers from the three services have been awarded the AVSM this year.

901 police personnel honored

A total of 901 police personnel have been awarded Police Medals on the occasion of 74th Republic Day of the country. Of these, 140 personnel have been awarded Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), 93 President’s Police Medal (PPM) and 668 Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PM). The Union Home Ministry gave this information on Wednesday.

A ministry statement said that out of 140 gallantry awards, 80 personnel from Left Wing Extremism affected areas and 45 personnel from Jammu and Kashmir region were awarded medals for their gallant action. Among the personnel who received gallantry awards, 48 ​​are from the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), 31 from Maharashtra Police, 25 from Jammu and Kashmir Police, nine from Jharkhand and seven each from Delhi Police, Chhattisgarh Police and Border Security Force (BSF). There are personnel. Rest of these are jawans of other states/union territories and CAPFs.

The President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG), which falls under the best category of gallantry awards among police forces, has not been awarded to any personnel. Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG) is awarded on the basis of conspicuous gallantry in saving life and property or preventing crime or arresting criminals. The President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPM) is awarded for a particularly distinguished record in police service and the Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PM) is awarded for valuable service characterized by resourcefulness and devotion to duty .

Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: